Manage groups

Any user can create groups. Org Admins and Group Admins can add/remove apps and users to/from a group. The user who creates a group becomes the Group Admin for that group. Org Admins and Group Admins can change Group Admin permissions of Users, including their own.

Group Admins can only administer those groups for which they have admin permissions. Org Admins can manage all Groups, even if they haven’t been explicitly granted Group Admin permissions.

The platform uses groups to manage pipeline access to layers, which means that apps can only write to output layers if they are part of a group.

To add a new group to your account

  1. Open the Access Manager from the Launcher.
  2. On the Groups tab, click Create New Group.
  3. Enter a name for the group (group names don't have to be unique).
  4. Enter an optional description.
  5. Click Save.

To add a user or an app to a group

  1. On the Groups tab, click the group to which you want to add a user or an app. The group page appears with a list of users and apps.
  2. Click Add to group.
  3. Enter the name of the user or the app in the search field to find the desired name or app.
  4. Select the desired name or app and click Add. The group page appears with the new app or user.

To remove a user or app from the group

  1. On the Groups tab, click the group in which you want to remove a user or an app. The group page appears with a list of users and apps.
  2. Click the ellipsis menu to remove the user or app. A Remove From Group button appears.
  3. On the popup dialog, click the Remove button to confirm. The group page appears.

To make a user a group admin or revoke group admin permissions

Only Org and Group admins can change User permissions. Org Admins can change User permissions on any Group. Group Admins are restricted to change Users permissions for only those groups for which they have admin permissions.

Note

Only Users can be Admins. You cannot make an App an Admin.

  1. On the Groups tab, click the group in which you want to change Group Admin permissions. The group page appears with a list of users and apps.
  2. Click the ellipsis menu to change Group Admin permissions for the user. A Make Admin button appears if the User is not already an admin. A Revoke Admin button appears if the User is already an admin. Clicking the appropriate button will immediately change the Group Admin permissions for the user.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""